Today’s Track: Flume (feat. Toro Y Moi) – “The Difference”

‘The Difference’ between the two artists are carefully exploited on their collaboration!

Good Morning! It’s been a long week for us all and we’ve finally reached the weekend, eh? I’m Jacob Braybrooke and I’m writing about your daily track on the blog because it’s my day-to-day pleasure to write about a different piece of music every day! “The Difference” is a new single that I’ve heard on BBC Radio 6Music’s A-List for a week or two, created by Australian DJ Flume in collaboration with American electronic music artist Toro Y Moi, who I’m quite fond of. I’m less familiar with Flume, but I know that he’s collaborated with Anna Lunoe in the past. Flume also has remix credits for Arcade Fire, Lorde, Disclosure and Sam Smith. Flume and Moi said on the record: “We made this song between a day at my place in L.A. and a day at Chaz [Bear]’s spot in Oakland,” Flume said in a statement. “This was our first time working together, I’ve been a Toro Y Moi fan for a while. His song “Talamak” is a longtime favorite. I listened to that one a lot when I first started Flume as a project.” It feels like a great tease for something bigger to come. Play spot “The Difference” in the video for the track below.

Frankly, I can taste “The Difference” (I’m sorry, Sainsbury’s) between both artists on their link-up single, as Flume balances a skittering drum-and-bass style with the melodic breakbeat hooks that Moi usually creates, feeling like as much of a collision between the unique qualities of both artists as much as it does a collaboration. It also feels pop-inspired and likeable for a casual audience, which really helps in getting the artistry of Flume and Moi heard. The vocals skillfully tweeter between the skittering trap-led bassline and a glowing, floaty backing vocal sample that hums along to the upbeat chorus. Moi chants: “I don’t know about you/But I got to get out/And I don’t know how soon/But if we die, I want to bring the whole thing” before the layered electro-pop beats implode, leading to an explosion of crisp EDM beats, with the whistling backing vocal sample retaining the cohesion underneath. It’s very short at 2:19, but the track feels like it has a lot to do in it’s brevity. It’s infectious and catchy, while highlighting a little bit of directional growth for both Moi and Flume as modern electro-pop dance artists. The songwriting is built around the vibrancy suitably as well, as I love how it ends abruptly, to spill out the colour but also leave you at a sudden end. It’s excellent! Enjoy it before the mainstream properly catches onto it. I think they will, and I have a feeling you’re going to hear this on loads of adverts soon!

Thank you very much for reading this post! Just to make you aware, we support the #BlackLivesMatter movement on One Track At A Time! Please check your local area for good charitable causes which help all those being directly affected by racism and injustice. As always, it’s a fun post tomorrow because I will be posting your new weekly edition of Scuzz Sundays – it’s a big one this week, so I’m not actually going to give you any clues as to what it is – I want to leave it as a suprise for you! If you really liked what you just read, why not follow the blog to get notified when every new daily post is up and why not like the Facebook page here?: https://www.facebook.com/OneTrackAtATime/

Leave a comment